9 comments on “A Vapor

  1. Was searching for words for my 71 year old brother. A christain a husbsnd, father, grand and great grand father. Took a truck driving job , only if he would be off on weekends to not miss work. Last week while leaving a delivery he accidentially ran over a 62 year old lady and she later died. The Journey has such comforting words and bible references. Thank you so much.

  2. Just left a comment and where the words off on weekends to go to work should have read off so as not miss Church. Thank you, Brenda Starnes

    • Thanks for leaving the comment Brenda. So often we don’t think about things like death, but it is good to have scripture to turn to in times like this. It must be very difficult for your father. My prayers are with you.

  3. Pingback: A Vapor | The Spiritual Battle of This Suicide Journey

  4. Psalm 139:16 (NIV) helped me tremendously after the sudden deaths of my family, killed in a wreck (husband, only son, only daughter).

    …”your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”

    This helped me to understand that (especially my young children) were not “cheated” from anything since God knew the date of their deaths from before they were even born. I personally believe there is only one “appointed time” for transitioning. All other near death times are not the “appointed time.”
    Although most do not know exactly when they are going to die, I think many are given a “heads up” that the time is near. St. Paul comes to mind. And also, one of my family members that predicted her imminent death before even a diagnosis or any symptoms were present.

    Trust is so very important, especially when it involves severe suffering for no apparent “reason.”

    Also, I feel that the good are “spared from evil” can also imply just the everyday, ordinary evils that abound in this earthly life that they are spared from, now being transitioned Not necessarily anything “profoundly evil”–but of course, that is a consideration.
    Thank you for an interesting post!

  5. Oh goodness, when I looked at this picture of the arrival, my heart is aching. My mom has only been gone to Heaven about 1 1/2 yrs. This picture looks just like my mom, I had my family to look at it and they all thought it did. Such a great Picture, I believe this was just how it was when she left me. Thanks so much for posting this picture. Someday I hope to purchase it.

    • That is so touching. I am sorry you lost your mother. I do love Jon McNaughton’s paintings. He has a web site if you would like to go and check it out. God Bless and thank you for your comment.

Leave a Reply

